Home > Crime, Family, General > How many race cards are in that deck?

How many race cards are in that deck?

WARNING:  THIS BLOG MAY CONTAIN EXPLICIT LANGUAGE AND/OR ADULT THEMES

When it comes to racism, I have very little tolerance for intolerance.  Whether it is the classic racial variety, reverse, institutional, or any of the various genres, I find it distasteful and abhorrent.  But, what gets me the most incensed is the use of the so-called “race card” when it has no business being bantered about.  Nothing dilutes the validity or support of public refutation of prejudiced behavior more than to invoke its use unnecessarily, or even falsely.

My ire was raised today (ie. I got fucking pissed) when I found that some of the parents of students from a local Middle School were accusing a local supermarket of racism for banning backpacks from being brought into the store.  Apparently, the market, located directly across the street from the school, has been the victim of numerous thefts and shoplifts lately at the hands of the students who descend upon the store like a huge rugby scrum as soon as the school bell rings.  Most come in and pay for their purchases, but some prefer the five-finger discount.  My wife and I have even witnessed several incidents where an item was stuffed into a backpack and the perp would go running from the store.

The majority of the school’s population is made up of minorities of the general population and, for some reason, the parents of many of these students have decided to play the proverbial race card on this issue.  Yet, the ban on backpacks by the store has been extended to all unaccompanied minors of any race, creed or religion.  In other words, “racism” should be as much a part of the discussion as Lindsay Lohan in a Rhodes Scholarship nomination meeting.

So, instead of dealing with the issue of criminal behavior and personal responsibility, these parents have decided to pass the buck and put it the feet of the victims in this saga.  Instead of nipping in the bud what will undoubtedly become recurring and growing incidents of illegal conduct, these parents are willing to let a local business suffer great economic losses in a very difficult fiscal time … threatening it’s very existence.  Perhaps worst of all, these parents are willing to deal another card from the “race deck” when the supply is already dwindling from overuse.

When I was a kid, I was often told the bedtime story about the “Boy Who Cried Wolf”.  It is a simple lesson that appears to be missed by our disposable society members who utilize this cry of “foul” like a bonus-size box of condoms.  The reasons behind my repetitious recitations of the moral embodied fable were certainly much more benign than what is being displayed by these morons.  Perhaps they could benefit from a nightly recantation of the famous story.  Unfortunately, I don’t think it would help much … they’d probably be too busy yelling “racist” at the top of their lungs because the sheep-stealing wolf portrays an unfair representation of their food-stealing children.  Uh huh …

  1. November 10, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Wow- they would have hated to have my mom growing up. I remember my friend and I went looting when we were 13. We stole pretty much anything you could think of. We made it to her house with all of our goods, including some sunless tanner. Her sister found our stash and called my mom. My mom came and picked me up and took me back to the store to return the items. I was streaked orange from head to toe- crying while handing the empty bottle to the manager. She then proceeded to drag me out of the store by my ear. Needless to say I am the same champion mom to my kids lol.

    I wrote a post about this race card deal. I could’ve written a book. Great post!

    • November 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks, Kristi. Thankfully, your mother knew how to teach personal responsibility. It is a quality that seems to be increasingly rare these days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

